The Mayflower Society House will be decorated for the season and open for house tours, musical entertainment, light refreshments and holiday cheer on:
Friday, December 9th (4PM-8PM)
Saturday, December 10th (10AM-6PM) and
Sunday December 11th (12PM-6PM)!
The Mayflower Society House is located at 4 Winslow St., right off North Street. We’re up the hill and across the street from Plymouth Rock! Enjoy historic North Street’s holiday hospitality and join us as we celebrate Christmas on North Street!
See this magnificent 18th century mansion transformed into a celebration of the magic of Christmas. Every room of this elegant home will be filled with elaborate decorations, created by local volunteers and garden club members!
Other local businesses that will be participating include our North Street neighbors Spooner House Museum, Plymouth Center for the Arts, Yankee Book & Art Gallery, Sheer Elegance, Dillon and Company, Blue Blinds Bakery, Upscale ReSail, Dead of Night Ghost Tours and Guilty Bakery!
A special gift basket filled with surprises and donations by our downtown Plymouth friends will be raffled off to a lucky holiday shopper at the conclusion of the weekend.
Plymouth Massachusetts holds a place of great prominence in American history, folklore, and culture, and is known as “America’s Hometown.” Plymouth was the site of the colony founded in 1620 by the Pilgrims, passengers of the famous ship the Mayflower. Plymouth is where New England was first established. It is the oldest municipality in New England and one of the oldest in the United States. The town has served as the location of several prominent events, one of the more notable being the First Thanksgiving feast. Plymouth served as the capital of Plymouth Colony from its founding in 1620 until the colony’s merger with the Massachusetts Bay colony in 1691.Plymouth is named after the English city of the same name.
Here are ways to enjoy Plymouth Massachusetts on a budget when you are visiting
75 Court St
Plymouth, MA 02360
Admission fees are $10 for adults, $8 for senior citizens (62+), $6 for children (6-15), and $25 for a family (2 adults with their children aged 6-15). Residents of Plymouth, Massachusetts are admitted free, as are members of the Pilgrim Society
Pilgrim Hall Museum, built in 1824, offers a chance to touch an authentic piece of Plymouth Rock! You can view actual 17th century Pilgrim possessions, including William Bradford’s Bible, Peregrine White’s cradle and Myles Standish’s sword. Enjoy a 15 minute film telling the dramatic story of the Mayflower Pilgrims, their voyage across the Atlantic and their courageous early years in Plymouth. Young visitors enjoy a Treasure Hunt in the galleries with a prize at the end. Museum shop, free on-site parking, air-conditioning, full accessibility Pilgrim Hall Museum is open 7 days a week from 9:30-4:30, February 1 – December 30. Closed Christmas Day, OPEN Thanksgiving Day with special programming Accredited by the American Association of Museums.
48 Summer Street
Plymouth, MA 02360
Adults $6.00 Museum only
Children $4.00 age 5-17yrs. Museum only
Located in the heart of the historic district, the Jenney Museum offers exhibits that tell the story of history and industry that began here in Plymouth.
“Family – the Cornerstone of Society”
This exhibit highlights the family and their role in our society beginning with the Pilgrim family. Learn how the Pilgrims valued the family, how they educated the children, about their work ethic, the structure of the family, and how these family values influenced our civil society.
“Pilgrim Pursuit of Happiness” – Our Declaration of Independence states that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of Happiness. In the midst of all their suffering and hardships what happiness were the Pilgrims searching for? Visit the Museum to find out what we think they were searching for.
“Story of the Cranberry Harvest” – In this exhibit learn all about the cranberry industry. Discover how the cranberry is grown and how it is harvested. The cranberry industry is the result of free trade and capitalism in our country. It is one of the largest industries in our country.
1749 COURT HOUSE AND MUSEUM
Plymouth, MA 02360
Located right in the center of Plymouth, The 1749 Court House is a free museum filled with interesting items from Plymouth’s history. It is the oldest wooden Court House and the longest used municipal building in America. The 1749 Court House was originally built for the joint use of the county and the Town of Plymouth. The town used it during those periods when the circuit court was not in session. When the new courthouse was built in 1820, the town purchased this building for the sum of $2,000 and from that time until the early 1950’s, virtually every town department has had its office there. The building was restored and opened to the public as a museum in 1970. It houses a fire engine from 1828, the town hearse, items from Parting Ways settlement, a display of gifts from Plymouth’s sister city Schigahama, and panels featuring the recent local history book Beyond Plymouth Rock. The 1749 Court House is only steps away from historic Burial Hill cemetery, The First Parish Church (the Pilgrims’ church), Brewster Gardens and Leyden Street. It is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
PLYMOUTH ROCK AT PILGRIM MEMORIAL STATE PARK
79 Water Street
Plymouth, MA 02360
The smallest park in the Massachusetts state forest and park system, Pilgrim Memorial State Park is also one of the the most heavily visited. Nearly one million people a year come from all over the world to visit the town where where English colonists first made their home in New England back in 1620, and to see one of the most famous historic landmarks in America, Plymouth Rock. According to tradition, Plymouth Rock is the spot where passengers of the Mayflower first set foot in their new home. This simple glacial boulder on the shore of Plymouth Harbor has become a world famous symbol of the courage and faith of the men and women who founded the first permanent colony in New England. Interpreters from the Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation are often stationed at Plymouth Rock, sharing its history and answering visitors’ questions.
SPOONER HOUSE MUSEUM
27 North Street
Plymouth, MA 02360
Five generations of family heirlooms are on display in the cozy Spooner House, occupied by one Plymouth family for over 200 years. Features authentic furnishings from the colonial era to the 20th century, and an enclosed “secret garden.” Hours: Thursdays & Sundays, 2 to 6 pm
Admission: $6 adults; $3 children; free for PAS members and Plymouth residents
MAYFLOWER SOCIETY HOUSE
4 Winslow Street
Plymouth, MA 02360
Admission Adults: $7
AAA members and Seniors (62+): $5
Children (12 – 18 years): $5
Children under 12 years: FREE
Active Duty Military, Retired Military, Plymouth Residents, and Society Members: FREE
Across the street and around the corner from Plymouth Rock, in the heart of this quaint village’s historic district, is the Mayflower Society House. The grounds host the historic eighteenth century dwelling built by Edward Winslow. Behind this stately mansion are the offices and library of the General Society of Mayflower Descendants. The property overlooks a snug harbor where a reproduction of the blessed ship, Mayflower, is moored. Cole’s Hill, the final resting place of many of the Pilgrims, may also be seen.
Stop by to take a guided tour of the House, explore the beautiful garden, and visit our library. We would enjoy meeting you, telling you more about our organization and the history of this celebrated site.
This 18th century mansion overlooking Plymouth harbor has ten rooms, three centuries of furnishings and artifacts. Nominal admission. Group rates arranged.
1677 HARLOW OLD FORT HOUSE
119 Sandwich Street
Tuesday Free Days June 7th through August 30th, 11 am to 3 pm.
Built in 1677, the gambrel-roofed Harlow Old Fort House is one of the few remaining 17th century buildings in the oldest established town in the Commonwealth. It was originally the family residence of settler William Harlow, a farmer, cooper and town official, who also served as sergeant of the local militia and participated in King Philip’s War. In 1676, Harlow was granted permission to salvage material from the Pilgrim’s fort-house on Burial Hill to use in the construction of his new dwelling. From the early 19th century, the Harlow House has been notable for the hand-hewn beams attributed to this source. The house, a local landmark for generations, is listed on the State and National Register of Historic Places.
After hundreds of years of being lived in, the Harlow House remains a welcoming place for children and families to explore the past. Tours and educational programs are offered seasonally. A series of festive special events is held at the site annually, including “The Corn Planting,” enacted each year by local schoolchildren, a spinning bee and craft fair, and the annual Pilgrim Breakfast, a traditional New England repast featuring fish cakes, baked beans and corn bread. The Sgt. William Harlow Family Association holds a gathering for descendants of original settler William Harlow at the historic homestead every summer.
THE RICHARD SPARROW HOUSE
42 Summer Street
Admission to the Museum is $2. for adults, $1. for children
Richard Sparrow, his wife Pandora, and son Jonathan, left their home in England, and arrived in New Plimoth by 1633. As a freeman, Richard was granted a house tract of six acres in 1636, which required him to construct a house within four years. The original two-story house contained one room on each level and utilized cross summer beam construction. With its large rooms, leaded glass windows and paneled walls, it was a grand home on the banks of what is now known as Town Brook.
Upon Richard Sparrow’s death on January 8, 1660, he was buried in Eastham and his estate was divided among his wife, son and three surviving grandchildren.
Open Daily 10am-5pm. Visit the gift shop featuring a variety of unique items.
Free History Tours of Plymouth’s Ancient Burying Ground
Burial Hill TourLaunched independently in 2011 by the Plymouth Antiquarian Society, the Burial Hill series is now a collaborative program with the Pilgrim Society & Pilgrim Hall Museum. Join us every first Saturday of the month at 1 pm through 2016 (excepting January) for an engaging series of free history tours of Burial Hill, led by local historians and guides. Tours begin at the top of the Hill.
A Taste of Old Hanover will be held on Saturday August 9th from 7-9pm to support the Hanover Historical Society Society historic Stetson House Barn .
A Taste of Old Hanover invites community members to take a look at the Society’s historic cookbooks from the 1920’s, 70’s & 90’s. Community members will then create a dish based on a historic recipe and donate it to the event. The event will be held in the barn. Wine is being donated from Running Brook Vineyards in North Dartmouth, MA.
Popular music from the 1920’s &30’s will be played by Hanoverian Paul Carroll. All proceeds go towards preserving Hanover’s history through education, exhibitions, and public programs. If you are interested in cooking a dish, looking at our historic cookbooks or reserving tickets please contact our Development Assistant Elise Napoli at (781) 826-9575 or e-mail Atasteofoldhanover@gmail.com
Suggested $25pp donation.
Hanover MA Historical Society
514 Hanover Street, Hanover, Massachusetts 02339
Discover Quincy, the tourism agency of the Quincy Chamber of Commerce, is pleased to announce the return of its “Discover Quincy Days” program being offered this season. On three Saturdays, August 2, September 6 and October 4, visitors and residents can experience Quincy and all of its rich history for one admission price.
Participants may purchase a Discover Quincy wristband for $5 that gives them admission for the day to the Adams National Historical Park which operates the birthplaces and summer White House of US Presidents John and John Quincy Adams, the Adams Crypt at the United First Parish Church, Quincy Historical Society Museum, Josiah Quincy House, and Dorothy Quincy Homestead.
“Many visitors to Quincy are familiar with the Adams story and the National Historical Park tour of the birthplaces and the Old House at Peace field,” said Margaret Laforest, Director of Tourism for the Quincy Chamber. “Fewer are familiar with the ‘Quincy’ story, one of Massachusetts’ leading families, and the Dorothy Quincy Homestead and Josiah Quincy House. We wanted to bring that inclusive experience to all visitors and residents alike and make it easy and affordable for them to enjoy more of Quincy’s rich history this summer.”
With the purchase of a wristband, visitors can visit one, two, three, four, or all five historic sites on Discover Quincy Days. They may use their own transportation and travel from location to location or they may take advantage of a shuttle that will depart from the Quincy Historical Society and run on a continuous loop between the sites from 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
In addition, participants can explore Quincy’s history by walking in the footsteps of John Adams. A Walking Tour map provides a self-guided tour for visitors from the Adams Academy/Quincy Historical Society down Hancock Street. Along the way, a variety of statues and markers, such as the John Adams and Abigail Adams/John Quincy Adams statues and Granite Ball are highlighted. At the Hancock Cemetery, located across the street from the United First Parish Church, a historical interpreter will be on hand to guide visitors through the town’s earliest cemetery.
Discover Quincy wristbands will be sold at all of the participating historic sites on Discover Quincy Days and in advance at the Quincy Historical Society, 8 Adams Street or the Quincy Chamber of Commerce, 180 Old Colony Ave, Suite 300.
Not able to visit on the Discover Quincy Days, new for 2014, Discover Quincy will offer a similar combined admission valid until November 10, 2014. For $10, visitors will receive a ticket and can tour each attraction when convenient for them. These tickets can be purchased online at DiscoverQuincy.com or at the Quincy Chamber of Commerce.
In recognition of the continuing anniversary of the Civil War during 1863, the Ames Free Library in Easton has multiple programs during the month of September culminating with a weekend living history and events during the last weekend of September 2013.
The Civil War in 3D
Monday September 9th 7pm
The Civil War remains very much in the American consciousness, not least because it was extensively photographed. While most people have seen the famous images, few know that they were shot with stereo cameras. Come see the images as they were meant to be seen.John is a Past President of the Photographic Historical Society of New England and an Adjunct Professor in History at Massasoit Community College.
Thursday September 12th 6-8pm
‘As the Civil War continues to rage, America’s president struggles with continuing carnage on the battlefield and as he fights with many inside his own cabinet on the decision to emancipate the slaves.’
Rated PG-13 for an intense scene of war violence, some images of carnage and brief strong language.
Development of Percussion Firearms in the US Military
Tuesday September 17th 6:30-7:30pm
Join us for a lively show-and-tell discussion of Civil War era weaponry! Among other things, Rick and Joe will discuss percussion lock muskets, tracing their development to 1863, showcase a variety of carbines, and talk about the development of self-contained cartridges. They will elaborate on the development and progression of percussion weapons, and the introduction (and rivalry) of both Colt and Remington pistols. There will be a Q & A session at the end of the program, and the handling of weapons is highly encouraged.
Rick and Joe are Civil War reenactors. Rick is a founding member of the 22nd Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry (Reenacted) and both men will be participating in the Civil War living history at Queset House the weekend of September 28-29th.
Wednesday September 25 6:30-7:30 pm
Author Series – Submarines in the Civil War
Among many surprises hidden in the records of the naval side of the Civil War is the fact that over twenty submarines were built–probably many more. Always dangerous (especially to their crews!), these boats employed some amazingly advanced technology, including air locks, remote electric detonation of mines, air purifiers, steam engines and a mysterious “torpedo projector” which has come to light only within the last six months.
Chuck Veit is the president of the Navy and Marine Living History Association and founder of the Naval Landing Party living history group. Chuck’s lectures and book talks look at the Civil War as the nation marks the 150th anniversary of the War Between the States. He is also the author of Raising Missouri, A Dog Before a Soldier and co-author of the USNLP Handbook for Civil War Naval Reenacters.
Lincoln’s Emancipation Proclamation – With Gary Hylander
Thursday September 26th 6:30-7:30
This year marks the sesquicentennial anniversary of Lincoln’s Emancipation Proclamation. At the outset of the Civil War, Lincoln’s sole objective was to restore the Union. But as the war dragged on, Lincoln decided to strike at slavery. In the aftermath of the Union victory at Antietam, Lincoln issued the Emancipation Proclamation. Justifying emancipation on the basis of military necessity and drawing on his powers as Commander-In-Chief, Lincoln announced that as of January 1, 1863, all slaves “are and henceforward shall be free.” The Proclamation however, did not free a single slave.
Dr. Gary Hylander, professor at Stonehill College, earned his PhD at Boston College. Hylander is currently an independent scholar who specializes as a presidential historian, and a pedagogical specialist for the National Endowment for the Humanities. Professor Hylander is a frequent presenter at library forums, historical societies and civic and professional organizations.
CIVIL WAR WEEKEND September 28th – 29th, 2013
Queset House 51 Main Street, North Easton
Reenactments from the 22nd Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry and the United States Sanitary Commission: Boston Branch
SATURDAY: 10 am – 4 pm & 7 pm – 9 pm
Military Drills throughout the day.
See Military & Civilian Camp Life, speak with reenactors, see displays of historic civil war military weapons & artifacts
11 am in the Library Movie: “Lincoln”
2 pm: 1860’s Fashion Show! (rain date: Sunday 11am)
How do hoops and corsets work? What is a day dress? Did people wear bathing suits? How much fabric was used in a typical ball gown and how much did it weigh? What was worn for the stages of mourning? What was typical daily wear for a man? Were military uniforms really made of wool and why? What are brogans?
See and learn about men’s and ladies’ fashions of the 1860’s!
From 4-7 pm, the camp will be closed to the public
7 pm – 9 pm
Lantern Tours – see what camp life was like after hours!
SUNDAY: 10 am – 1 pm
10am: Sunday church service in Queset Garden, led by Robert O’Bryan, 22nd MVI
10-1 pm: Military & Civilian Camp Life – OPEN TO ALL!